Principal of the Year Award

Congratulations to Bay Port High School Principal, Mike Frieder, on being named Wisconsin’s recipient of the 2013 MetLife/NASSP National Principal of the Year Award, photo of Mike and wife Sheila.

During Mike Frieder’s visit to Washington D.C. September 18-20, he had the chance to meet with our senators and congressmen on Capitol Hill to discuss educational legislation and its potential impact on their schools, partake in a roundtable conversation with representatives from the Department of Education and share and receive best practices with other principals from around the nation.  The Principals Institute concluded on Friday night with the Awards Gala, kicked off by a keynote address from US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

Each principal was invited on stage during the gala to receive their award and be formally recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in their schools.

The event came just before the start of National Principals Month in October. The search for the national principal of the year began in early 2013 as each state principals’ association selected its state principal of the year. From this pool of state award winners, a panel of judges selected three middle level and three high school finalists, who were then narrowed down to the two national winners. For more information about the MetLife/NASSP National Principal of the Year Program and winners, please visit

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.