Bay Port, The Giving Tree Win $15,000 from Cellcom Project Innovate

2014-12-11_19.21.38.jpgCellcom awarded Bay Port High School and The Giving Tree $15,000 for a second-place finish in the Project Innovate voting challenge. The funds will be used to support individual wireless internet access devices for families in need who cannot provide wireless access at home. After residing in fifth place for most of the month-long competition among 11 local schools, Bay Port supporters rallied to finish second in the closing days of the competition. In the photo shown at right, Bay Port High School Principal Mike Frieder and Bay View Middle School Technology Integration Specialist Amy Arbogash accept the award from Nancy Loberger of Cellcom/Nsight Telservices.

Bay Port High School Builds a House

Brian Dolgner, Justin Pilz, Tyce Jones, Weston Schelter and Richard Massey from Mike Phillips' advanced woodworking class built the walls for a Habitat for Humanity house.  What makes this so special is that all of the construction was done inside the school!  On May 22, 2014 the five students loaded a trailer and erected the walls at the construction site.

Innovation Award to NWTC for Mobile Tech Lab

GREEN BAY, Monday, October 7, 2013 Northeast Wisconsin Technical College and AT&T teamed up today to announce a $5,000 AT&T Innovation & Investment Award to support the Computer Integrated Manufacturing Lab at Bayport High School this semester.  The mobile tech lab gives students hands on experience with the latest manufacturing technologies and promotes local workforce development programs.

Principal of the Year Award

Congratulations to Bay Port High School Principal, Mike Frieder, on being named Wisconsin’s recipient of the 2013 MetLife/NASSP National Principal of the Year Award, photo of Mike and wife Sheila.

During Mike Frieder’s visit to Washington D.C. September 18-20, he had the chance to meet with our senators and congressmen on Capitol Hill to discuss educational legislation and its potential impact on their schools, partake in a roundtable conversation with representatives from the Department of Education and share and receive best practices with other principals from around the nation.  The Principals Institute concluded on Friday night with the Awards Gala, kicked off by a keynote address from US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

Each principal was invited on stage during the gala to receive their award and be formally recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in their schools.

The event came just before the start of National Principals Month in October. The search for the national principal of the year began in early 2013 as each state principals’ association selected its state principal of the year. From this pool of state award winners, a panel of judges selected three middle level and three high school finalists, who were then narrowed down to the two national winners. For more information about the MetLife/NASSP National Principal of the Year Program and winners, please visit